Dallas-Mavs.com Forums

Go Back   Dallas-Mavs.com Forums > Everything Else > The Lounge

Old 01-31-2002, 05:50 PM   #1
Flying Tiger
Golden Member

Flying Tiger will become famous soon enoughFlying Tiger will become famous soon enough

I started this partly to get yalls opinions and and partly to whine. Our coaches have us doing a warm-up set and then 3 burn-out sets on squat, bench, hang clean, and deadlift on Mon., Wed., and Fri. It sucks. The powerlifting team(I couldn't be on because I broke my hand) does a full-body workout Mon.-Fri. I'm no expert, but that can't be healthy.
Old 01-31-2002, 06:19 PM   #2
djb
Administrator

djb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond reputedjb has a reputation beyond repute

A full body workout five days in a row?! If there ever was a definition for overtraining, that would be it. I've heard of powerlifters working the same muscle groups up to three days a week (since their focus is on strength rather than muscle gain), but beyond that is crazy. I only do squats, deads, and bench press once a week, and sometimes that doesn't feel like an adequate amount of time to rest up. I'm sure the coaches want to train for explosiveness and strength, so your training regimen would most likely differ from that of a bodybuilder's..but still, I don't see how you guys can follow that routine without overtraining. Common results of overtraining are muscle atrophy and injury. Not exactly the results I'd want from spending all that time in the gym.
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2002, 07:12 PM   #3
Murphy3
Guru